Sweet Potato Burgers & Kale Chips

About once a year I crave a big juicy beef burger.  All the other times I crave veggie burgers, because I love veggie burgers.  Last night we tried Sweet Potato Burgers for the first time, which were a big hit and now we have another type of burger to whip up!  I was worried they wouldn’t be very “solid” but they actually stay together really well and are pretty dense, and I was full after just one.  You can find the full recipe here! We used the greek yogurt as the base to the cream sauce, and I liked it, even though Chris wasn’t a huge fan.  I think it’s even better the second day, because this recipe made five burgers and my leftover lunch was de-licious.

FullSizeRender (16)

On the side, I made some kale chips because organic kale seems to always be on sale at King Soopers (99 cents!). I’m not sure where I found the recipe for them, but I want to share because we make them quite often and they are SO quick and easy- not to mention fairly healthy.

Kale Chips

Ingredients

  • One bunch of kale
  • EVOO
  • Salt
  • Sesame Seeds

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 375
  2. Break off kale into roughly 2/3″ pieces. Try to keep them all consistent as much as you can.
  3. Drizzle with EVOO (I use roughly 2 teaspoons)
  4. Shake a little bit of salt over the kale (I eyeball this- maybe 1/2 tsp)
  5. Sprinkle sesame seeds- I usually go overboard with these because I love them
  6. Scrunch everything up to even out the EVOO.
  7. Bake for about 10 minutes- until a little browned.  I check around 8 minutes to see how they look. You want them a little crunchy, but not completely burnt.
FullSizeRender (18)

                  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

